It has lived through epochs of more than 350 years of history, from great and small.The stately gabled house was built in 1669 and for the first time received its "iron host shield".



1798 - 1799 the angel was a camp for the posted officers. Until 1801 Joseph Hürlimann was the first known owner of the house. Subsequently, Siegmund Hürlimann (farmer) came along with Mrs. Gertrud Hürlimann-Röllin and Joh. A. Hürlimann (postman). They entertained the angel until 1884 when Mrs. Gertrud Hürlimann-Röllin died. In 1901 the inn was renovated. From 1885 - 1924 Hermann Hürlimann (innkeeper, postman and inventor) was the manager of the Engel. His successor was Anna Ehrler from America. In 1946 she leased the inn to Mr. and Mrs. Siegrist. Following the death of Anna Ehlrer, the K. Ehrler-Meier family took over the inn on January 1, 1953. In 1962 the kitchen was rebuilt. On May 1, 1971 the Kretz-Ruckli family took over the inn as tenants. In 1975 the post office moved to a larger premises. The Holly Gallery and Painting School moved into the former Post Office premises. On March 23, 1987 the report was published that Hans Durrer had acquired the Engel. In 1996 the house was declared a listed building and in 2004 the Gasthaus Engel was completely renovated.


Nature Experiences and Lifestyle

The region around Walchwil is lively and diverse. Whether in summer or winter, for sporting activities or to experience the special lifestyle. Here between mountain and lake there are countless possibilities. Varied hikes, bike tours, cross-country skiing, skiing, but also on the lake with stand-up paddling to relax the soul or simply and comfortably explore Lake Zug with the shipping company, which drops anchor 50m from the Gasthaus Engel, or combine it with a shopping tour in the old town of Zug.

User Login
Your Email